Band o’ the Week: Underoath

So I picked another “screamer” band this week, and I promise they won’t always be this way.  Next week I’ll probably end up listening to something horribly horrible.  But for now, we’re gonna talk about the band Underoath.

Underoath

Underoath is a Christian metalcore band that was formed in 1997 and has released a total of 6 studio albums as well as a live CD/DVD box set.  Underoath considers themselves a Christian band but you can probably say that they only thing Christian about their music is that sometimes they talk about God and they don’t seem to swear… as far as I can tell.  These guys aren’t those typical late-night commercial “lift me up” sort of bands.  They are hard, heavy and full of screamin’!

I have to say that these guys aren’t amongst my favorite.  While I do enjoy a good scream-o every now and then, the singer in this band seems to be almost whine-y.  His screams sound like he has bronchitis or pneumonia or something and is having a hard time keeping his screaming going.  That is one of the only things that turned me off bout this band.

The other thing I don’t like about the band is that they are almost a complete scream-o band.  As I said in my previous post I enjoy the melodic metalcore kind of bands.  I like some nice singing along with the screaming.  There were a few songs that fell into this category, but the majority of their songs were nothing but the whining.

Some of the songs I really enjoyed were “Down, Set, Go”, “Young and Aspiring”, “Reinventing Your Exit”, “You’re Ever So Inviting”, “Changing of Times”, “The Impact of Reason”, “To Whom It May Concern” and “It’s Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door” (gotta give ’em props for some of their titles).  These almost fell in line with what I enjoy listening to, but it’s not enough to really fill up an entire album so it just didn’t work for me.

Underoath is very popular and up to the typing of this post has received two Grammy nominations for their efforts.  I’m not saying that this band is not good, I am saying that this band does not quite fit TheBigNut standard of something I would really enjoy.  I don’t mind throwing on a few songs, but it was tough for me to listen to all of their songs.  I am going to give these guys a 3 out of 5 score.  If you enjoy a higher-pitched screaming, almost nothing but screaming, and some great music (I’ll give ’em that), then this would be a great band for you.

3/5

One Response to “Band o’ the Week: Underoath”

  1. […] awesome cover of a horrible song “Since U Been Gone”.  They are also up there with Underoath with some of the best […]

Leave a Reply

