The Wall

Damn WallI wish I could be talking about Pink Floyd.  But alas, I am yet again talking about the diet.  The Damn Diet.  Maybe that’s what I should call it instead of the Diet Train.

I knew that this would happen eventually but I had kind of hoped it would be a little bit further down the line.  But maybe it’s a good thing to get out of the way now… assuming it will only happen once.

I feel that I’ve hit a wall with my diet.  I am not one who can afford the money or time to eat 100% perfect or spend hours on end in a gym, so I do what I can.  I eat much more healthy food than I used to, and less food overall.  I don’t snack on much of anything, hardly ever eat sugar, and cut WAY back on soda.  OH, and yes, Ron, I drink lots of water.  So I think I’ve done quite well with what I have.  Let’s face it; dieting and exercising “correctly” costs a lot more than people want to admit.

So this last week I failed to lose any weight.  I didn’t gain any – which I guess I could be happy for – but I was hoping to at least lose a pound every week for a while.  I didn’t really change anything about what I eat or what I do except I now go to the gym 5 days a week instead of 3.  And maybe that helps aggravate the situation more.  The fact that I’ve increased my exercise regiment but still didn’t lose any weight.

Well, nothing really can be done about it except to continue to push through.  I am just telling myself that this is my body’s way of protesting.  It wants the sugar and fattening food back, and so it is doing what it can to sway me.  But I am going to kick my body’s ass and just continue on the path I am on.  There’s no part of my brain or stomach that can defeat my willpower this time!

Especially now that I’m making a fool of myself on the internet 🙂

4 Responses to “The Wall”

  1. No, I’m not bringing up the “water” thing again =) One thing that Susan and I have discussed is this very subject. There will be some weeks where I lose 3 lbs and the next week I work harder, burn a lot more calories and either maintain or gain a pound. Unfortunately it’s a delicate balance for us guys because we gain muscle in our workouts, which we know is heavier than fat. Susan says the best way (other than not obsessing over what the scale says) is to do measurements….Your biceps, chest, waist, hips, ect. That’s probably the only good way to measure your progress until you’re down to a weight where the loss will be more significant.

  2. Not sure, mine only goes to like 60. I go off the hips since that’s where I’ve had to wear my pants for 6 years.

Leave a Reply

