State of the Union

Two things right off the bat.  First of all, I don’t wish to offend anyone.  I know that people take their political views very seriously and I am not trying to call anyone out or say anyone is wrong.  Second of all:

I DO NOT THINK THAT OBAMA IS GOD AND IS GOING TO SAVE US ALL

Now that this is out of the way, I have to say a few things.

I just got done listening to the State of the Union address by President Obama.  I know that politicians can say anything they want to say just to make themselves look better.  But I actually want to know, how are people complaining about anything he said?  As he said early on in his speech,

“One year ago, I took office amid two wars, an economy rocked by severe recession, a financial system on the verge of collapse, and a government deeply in debt.”

Also remember,

“So let me start the discussion of government spending by setting the record straight. At the beginning of the last decade, America had a budget surplus of over $200 billion. By the time I took office, we had a one year deficit of over $1 trillion and projected deficits of $8 trillion over the next decade. Most of this was the result of not paying for two wars, two tax cuts, and an expensive prescription drug program. On top of that, the effects of the recession put a $3 trillion hole in our budget. That was before I walked in the door.”

Do people honestly not remember President George W. Bush?  I sure do.  I remember how he fixed so many problems, got us out of wars, helped get us out of our huge deficit, and… oh wait.  No he didn’t.  So why in the hell are people so down on the current President that we have?  Sure, he’s a politician and that makes him a snake.  But you have to pick the lesser of two evils when it comes to these sort of things.  You are never going to see a President that is going to be perfect for everyone, but you can find a President who actually tries to make changes and wants to make a difference.

They may not do things that you agree with, but how can you disagree with getting jobs for people, getting people health insurance who need it, cleaning up the environment and helping the average American and smaller businesses?  Increasing Pell Grants, Student Loans not being the bane they are now, giving incentive to people who do go to college?  Helping people get retirement, helping the value of homes, helping those who have to have children put in daycare to work?  Working to allow gays into the military, fixing income for women, increasing laws against racism and discrimination?  Man, I sure can see what an evil man President Obama is for wanting these changes.

Again, I know that President Obama is not the greatest person in the world.  He has his faults just like all of you, just like I do, just like everyone does.  But he is trying to make a difference.  I’ll take that over the same stuff we’ve gone through 8 years prior to President Obama being elected.

I don’t know why I even posted this.  I guess I wanted to vent in a “safer” location because I obviously can’t do it at work.  I am just tired of everyone saying President Obama is doing nothing and we would have been better with another Bush.

It took many years to ruin America, it’s going to take more than 1 year to fix it.

Leave a Reply

