TVs Darlings and Dumbasses

PatrickSo I woke up this afternoon and stumbled into the living room. Both of my little girls and my wife happen to be sick, so they were sort of lazying about. I sat down on the couch and looked at the television that they were only half-watching and noticed the television show iCarly was on. I sighed and got off of the couch and went into the kitchen to eat breakfast. While I was walking by, a character named Sam Puckett (I had to Google it, I don’t know these people) was on the television making an idiot of herself. It was then that I noticed a trend among the television shows that my girls watch.

First of all I must protect myself here by saying that I do not watch these. I have two young daughters so I often catch them out of the corner of my eye or sit and tolerate them for 5 minutes before changing it to football.

I noticed that in all of these TV shows these days, there is the darling that everyone loves. Characters such as Carly from iCarly, Spongebob from Spongebob Squarepants and Alex from Wizards of Waverly Place are the obvious “darlings” of the series, the characters that everyone loves and wants to be. But for some reason, every television show on Disney or Nickelodeon anymore have to have their “dumbass” for some reason.

iCarly has Sam Puckett who is Carly’s best friend. She is always getting into trouble, bullying kids and showing absolutely no respect. In fact, she’s already been arrested three times (according to the know it all wiki). Wizards of Waverly Place has Max – the brother of the main character – who is always getting into trouble and is generally very careless. Then there is Harper who is the best friend of the main character who is one of the biggest airheads I’ve seen.  Finally, Spongebob Squarepants has the obvious dumbass which happens to be Patrick. I am not saying that Spongebob is any sort of genius, but Patrick has to be the most idiotic character I’ve ever seen in a tv show. Whenever Spongebob talks to him, I feel that he is making me dumber by listening to what he says.

Why is it that these television shows these days have to have the “darling and the dumbass” characters? Why couldn’t they follow the method that was used back when I was younger? We had Beavis and Butthead – two dumbasses. Then there was Ren and Stimpy – two dumbasses. Ducktales – everyone getting into trouble. Looney Toons – everyone getting into trouble. Alvin and the Chipmunks – everyone getting into trouble. Do you see a pattern here? There is obviously only one thing that can be done to fix this situation.

Bring back the full-fledged-dumbass television shows!

Leave a Reply

