Friends

Friends

So I only recently started using many of the social networks that the web has to offer.  I mean, I sort of had a MySpace page and was involved in a website for a while, but those weren’t exactly to be “social” but to promote a podcast I used to do.  I’ve always kind of sworn off these social diseases such as Twitter and Facebook.  All you heard about on the news were the “Dangers of Facebook!” and how people would get addicted to these things and spend all of their time doing it.  Or how there were predators hunting our youth.  And on and on and on.

Well, I said screw it…

I have recently signed up for Facebook and Twitter.  Not only that, this blog coincided with the decisions to sign up for those other networks.  “But why, Earl, if you hate them so much?” you might ask.  Good question, and I am glad I thought of it.

As many of my friends know, I don’t have many friends.  (Blew your mind right there, didn’t I?)  What I mean by that, is that I have a tendency to sort of shun the people who used to be my friends when I am not in a position to associate with them anymore.  When I graduated from high school, the majority of the people I spent almost every day with sort of disappeared.  I still had a few friends, but for the most part, I stopped associating with many of them.  When I moved from Blanding to northern Utah, I basically left every single friend I had behind.  I am on my second job since moving up here and most all of my friends that I spent a LOT of time with previously were just pushed to the side.

I don’t intentionally do these things.  I don’t tell myself that I hate these people the second I move out of town or get a different job.  It’s just sort of what’s always happened.  It is easier to spend time with someone and have things in common if you are both in the same school or at the same job.  Sometimes that is the only time I see my friends is at work.  Does that make them any less of a friend?  I doubt it.  I wouldn’t mind spending more time with them, but as a father and a husband and a breadmaker it makes it sort of tough to take the time to go and hang out.

Anyway, I guess this is just my little attempt at trying to come to an understanding of what happens.  I don’t hate the people I used to be friends with.  I don’t dislike them either.  I just sort of lose that connection that I had with them and find it hard to associate anymore.

That’s one reason I decided to pick up Twitter and Facebook.  Why not give it a shot and see if I can find some of those people I used to care about?  Maybe they won’t want to be friends anymore, maybe they’ll be nonchalant about the whole thing or maybe I’ll rekindle the friendships I had in the past.  I’ve already found some of my friends and am glad I did.

And Chris, you just stop smiling and shut up 😛

Leave a Reply

